Pro C# 2010 and the .NET 4 Platform

I am writing this review as a Java developer with limited experience in C# and the .NET Platform, who was given this book to enhance my C# and .NET knowledge.
The size of the book (about 1700 pages) was a little intimidating and my first thought was to just skip the parts I do not find interesting or I will most likely not need in the immediate future, but I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the whole book contained relevant and useful information that I could not miss. Maybe a more experienced C# developer would have found some parts elementary and could be skipped, but as I am still new to this, it wasn’t my case.
I think the author’s writing is clear and concise and the author did a good job explaining the complex material in a simple, easy to understand fashion.
As a Java developer diving into C# and .NET, what I found really useful were concepts like .NET assemblies and CLR(Common Language Runtime) which were covered in quite detail and explained in a way someone new to the concepts could understand. Also, the later sections that show more specific ways to solve common programming problems like how to deal with I/O, how to connect to databases with ADO.NET or using newer technologies like LINQ were really useful and presented in a great way.
As a beginner in C# and .NET, I would have found useful some more examples here and there, but all things considered, I found this book very helpful, it is a great addition to a programmer’s library and I would recommend it to anyone looking to improve their C# and .NET skills.

A collegue in our JUG Cluj-Napoca (Cristina Nistor)

Explore posts in the same categories: Nonclasificat

Lasă un răspuns

