Programming Groovy: Dynamic Productivity for the Java Developer

A colleague of mine that was recently hired in our company was very impressed about this book.
Here is his review:
„I am a junior developer who jumped from the oldest but goldies C++ and some Java, right to this new world of dynamic web programming.

When I first touched this ground I was hungrily searching for a good book to somehow make me feel this new wave.
So I put my hands on „Programming Groovy: Dynamic Productivity for the Java Developer” and I must say that Venkat Subramaniam did a great job with this book. I had no difficulties at all to assimilate Groovy’s dynamic concepts, since the book is well written and descriptive enough even for a junior developer like myself.

The first two parts of the book are a good introduction to Groovy, while the third part of the book, the one about MOPing, is very useful for those developers that are interested in writing code testing because it give a fairly image of Groovy injection, method interception and mocking.

I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn a new, refreshing, dynamic language. Still, you need some previous programming knowledge to understand the concepts presented by Venkat.

PS: I also liked the small jokes that add spice to the book.”

Do I need to say something else? If you want to learn Groovy go buy this book, it’s very good.

Ionel Condor,
Cluj, ROMANIA.

Explore posts in the same categories: Nonclasificat

Lasă un răspuns

